IDAPA 39 — IDAHO TRANSPORTATION DEPARTMENT
Division of Motor Vehicles

39.02.46 — Rules Governing Temporary Motor Vehicle Registration Permit

Who doesthisrule apply to?
New Vehicle Purchasers/Buyers.

* New ldaho Vehicle Purchasers
» Qut-of-State Residents Purchasing 1daho Vehicles.

What is the purpose of thisrule?

Rule provides the ability for the county assessors, the Department or Idaho vehicle dealers, to
issue thirty (30) day temporary registration permits to persons who cannot immediately complete
the requirements to obtain registrations, or to an out-of-state purchaser who is transferring their
newly purchased vehicle to their state of residence. The rule also provides for ineligible vehicles
and exempt vehicles.

What isthelegal authority for the agency to promulgatethisrule?
This rule implements the following statutes passed by the Idaho Legislature:

Motor Vehicles -

General:

* 49-201, Idaho Code — Duties of Board

Motor Vehicle Registration:

* 49-444, |daho Code — Recreation Vehicle Registration

» 49-445, |daho Code — Recreation Vehicle Annual License

Vehicle Titles:

e 49-523, Idaho Code — Procedure When Department Unsatisfied as to Ownership or Security
Interests — Temporary Registration Procedure

Who do | contact for moreinformation on thisrule?

|daho Transportation Department
Monday — Friday 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
PO. Box 7129

Boise, ID 83707-1129

3311 West State Street

Phone: (208) 334-8000

itd.idaho.gov
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https://itd.idaho.gov/
https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title49/T49CH2/SECT49-201/
https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title49/T49CH4/SECT49-444/
https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title49/T49CH4/SECT49-445/
https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title49/T49CH5/SECT49-523/
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39.02.46 — RULES GOVERNING TEMPORARY MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION PERMIT

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
Thisrule is adopted under the authority of Sections 49-201, 49-444, 49-445 and 49-523, |daho Code. (3-31-22)

001. TITLEAND SCOPE.

Thisruleistitled IDAPA 39.02.46, “Rules Governing Temporary Motor Vehicle Registration Permit,” and clarifies
issuance of athirty (30) day temporary motor vehicle registration permit. (3-31-22)
002. -- 099. (RESERVED)

100. ISSUANCE BY COUNTY ASSESSOR OR THE DEPARTMENT.
County assessors or the Department may issue thirty (30) day temporary registration permits to persons who cannot

immediately complete the requirements to obtain registration. Some examples are: (3-31-22)
01. New Idaho Resident. A new Idaho resident who has atitle held by an out-of-state lienholder, or a
new resident who must apply to hislast place of residence for a duplicate or replacement title. (3-31-22)

02. Newly Purchased Vehicle. A person who has a newly purchased motor vehicle and the Certificate
of Titleis not immediately available. (3-31-22)

101. ISSUANCE BY IDAHO VEHICLE DEALERS.

01. Dealer Issuance to Out-of-State Retail Purchasers. Idaho vehicle dealers may issue athirty day
(30-day) temporary registration permit to an out-of-state retail purchaser who is transferring their newly-purchased
vehicle to their state of residence. (3-31-22)

02. Dealer Issuance to Commercial, Farm and Non-Commercia Vehicles and Trailers. Commercial,
farm or non-commercia vehicles, trailers, or semi-trailers purchased from an lIdaho dealership are eligible for a
dealer-issued thirty day (30-day) temporary registration permit for unladen movements,; one hundred twenty hour
(120-hour) temporary permitsin lieu of registration are required for laden movements. (3-31-22)

102. -- 199. (RESERVED)
200. INELIGIBLE VEHICLES- COUNTY ASSESSOR OR DEPARTMENT ISSUANCE.

01. Commercial, Farm and Non-Commercial Vehicles. Unregistered, commercial, farm or non-
commercial motor vehicles exceeding eight thousand (8,000) pounds gross weight are required to operate under aone
hundred twenty hour (120-hour) temporary permit for laden or unladen movements. (3-31-22)

02. Commercial, Farm and Non-Commercial Trailers. Unregistered commercial, farm, or non-
commercial trailers or semi-trailers are required to operate under a one hundred twenty hour (120-hour) temporary
permit for laden or unladen movements. (3-31-22)
201. -- 299. (RESERVED)

300. EXEMPT VEHICLES.

01. Recreational Vehicles. Snowmobiles, off-road motorcycles and all-terrain vehicles, dune buggies

or any other vehicle that is not equipped for operation on the public roadways. (3-31-22)
02. Trailers. Utility trailers and recreation trailers, where atitle is not required for registration.

(3-31-22)

03. Special Make Equipment. Drilling rigs; construction, drilling and wrecker cranes; loaders; log

jammers; and similar vehicles operated in an overweight and/or oversize condition. (3-31-22)

301. -- 399. (RESERVED)

400. ISSUANCE TO RECREATIONAL VEHICLES.

A thirty (30) day, temporary registration may be issued to a recreational vehicle, able to be titled. Payment of the
recreational vehicle annual license fee is also required at the time the temporary registration is issued. A recreational
vehicle which is able to be titled is defined as any recreational vehicle whose unladen weight is more than two
thousand (2,000) pounds. Some examples are motor homes, travel trailers weighing over two thousand (2,000)
pounds unladen, fifth-wheel trailers and park trailers. (3-31-22)
401. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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